Newham Landcare tops awards

Newham and District Landcare Group members (from left) Alice Aird, Hilary Roberts, Karl Kny, Penny Roberts, Helen Scott with award, Howard Stirling, Sue Massie, Natasha Gayfer, Rob Lawrence, and UDCLN facilitator Clare Watson. Photo: Bruce Hedge

Newham and District Landcare Group has won the Australian Community Media Landcare Community Group Award at the 2021 Victorian Landcare Awards.

The award acknowledges an outstanding community group that is improving sustainable land use and/or is undertaking on-ground action to protect, enhance or restore the natural values of an area on behalf of the community.

The group’s award acceptance video showcased the landscape of its major project – the Cobaw Bolink – with some past and present committee members.

Secretary Helen Scott said the group was “thrilled” its work had been acknowledged and also paid tribute to the group’s first president Jim Sansom.

“Jim founded the group in 2004 with a meeting of 60 people. Today our group has 120 families,” she said.

Penny Roberts, past president for several years and a major driver of Newham Landcare’s projects and events, thanked member families.

“Member families are at the heart of our group and community and demonstrate just how much can be achieved when we work together towards a worthy goal. It’s been quite a journey,” she said.

President Howard Stirling acknowledged Macedon Ranges Shire Council’s Environment Department and Melbourne Water for their support over the past 16 years.

“They’ve been amazing partners,” he said.

The group will go forward as the Victorian nominee for the Australian Community Media Landcare Community Group Award at the 2022 National Landcare Awards in Sydney.